An Open Letter to My Love

I bet you were not expecting this from me because we just discussed a few hours ago how I’m not the romantic type. I don’t think about sending flowers or buying chocolates, mostly because I never really cared for them myself. I actually think chocolate tastes like medicine and flowers don’t smell good, they just smell like outside, lol. But you like that kind of stuff so maybe I’ll jump out of my skin and surprise us both one of these days.

I really hope you remember this because it was literally last week.. I will clown you so just pretend you do if you don’t (: But you wanted to play a game soooo bad so we played one of those “how well do you know your partner” games via FaceTime and we both got every question right except maybe 2, and those were things we didn’t discuss so naturally we didn’t know the answer. The little grading scale at the bottom said we probably had a very intense relationship. I don’t know if that’s a compliment or an insult but I cannot deny that “intense” is a pretty accurate word to describe how we are. We are two very passionate people.. What could our union possibly be other than intense???

I want you to know that despite the baggage we both brought into this, unbeknownst to either of us before we were in too deep, this is probably one of the most right and most natural things I have ever done. Getting to know you was and still is so organic… As much as you try to hide your personal life from the world, you were comfortable enough with me to share the good and the bad and I don’t think I will ever be able to express to you how much it means to me that someone as amazing and kind as you instinctively wanted to be close to me. Like wow, I must be a pretty dope person, right? Well, you are too.

We’re young and absolutely anything could happen between now and the end of time but I will never stop saying you were meant for me. We’re so different, yet so alike. All of my favorites are your favorites. We’re both picky eaters.. We’re both goofy.. We both feel so many things intensely… We both like Dr. Pimple Popper (LOL).. We both have dreams of giving back and helping advance humanity in one way or another.. I could go on forever. You’re my twin flame, despite us coming from very different walks of life.

I know sometimes you doubt yourself but I wish you could see you the way I see you. You’re capable of so many things… You’re going to move mountains. Our first interaction ever in life was about the whole poem thing and I was telling you how proud I was of you, and to keep your head up (who knew months later we’d meet again under different circumstances and I would get to call you mine).. I’ve been proud of you since before I knew you personally, because you have a genuine spirit and you have a voice. You have no problem making everyone else around you uncomfortable when it comes to speaking the truth and I’ll always love that fire in you… that drive to grow as an individual while pushing your entire community to grow with you. They say you can’t pour from an empty cup, so always take care of you first… but somehow you manage to put the world before yourself and continue to be as upbeat and loving as ever.

I saw a tweet earlier today that said “relationships aren’t always 50/50.. Sometimes they’re gonna go through something and you gotta pick up that 80/20”. Forgive me if I have placed you in a position where you’re putting in 80 more often than you’re putting in 50. My already shaken up world started to fall apart shortly after we decided to give this a try but I pray that I have gotten to a place where you’re as confident as I am that I can put in 80 more often, too. It’s a team effort and if I haven’t made myself clear over the course of these months, there is nothing you aren’t worthy of.

I am going to wrap this up because I have a feeling you’re going to wake up and ask me why I haven’t called you yet but in summary, my love for you goes beyond this relationship. We are best friends and if ever we decided that we aren’t meant for a romantic partnership, that would be ok. We both have grown so much mentally and spiritually… and I’m not sure it would have happened if we didn’t take this step. Pretty sure it was all divine alignment ❤

Thank you for being who you are. Thank you foThank you for teaching me that it is ok to be vulnerable more than I’m angry. Thank you for not walking away when it would’ve been easier to do that instead of stick it out. We have about a million more days to conquer but together it’s more than doable.

Leave a Reply

